A Favorite Quote

OK, I’ll admit it. I stole something. It was pretty valuable and something I utilize almost every single day. I stole a quote.

You are probably thinking this is no big deal. Well, you are wrong and for that I will also admit that while I did steal the quote I also (eventually) give credit where credit is due.

I met Eric Winegardner at a conference in Chicago where we were both presenting. During Eric’s talk, he dropped TWITTER GOLD on me and it went a little something like this: “don’t tell me I don’t have time, tell me its (social media) not worth my time”.

Sheer genius.

That is a very distinct and important difference. Let’s examine the first part of that quote. All too often people will hear of something new and say “I just don’t have time for that”. Of course they have time, they are just afraid of trying something new. And they make this comment prior to even looking into the tool. The second half is so true. This states that you have tried a particular tool and did not get the results you need, so you moved on. That is critical.

Social media is THE new tool. There will always be something new and shiny for us to try next, but take the time to examine and evaluate whether whatever tool will actually work for you and your business.

Be informed, be educated and have fun testing the next shiny object!

About kufarms
10 years in HR and recruiting both in the corporate and agency worlds. Corporate Recruiter and Socail Media Strategist. Looking to share and discuss topics as well as hopefully provide some thought. Dad of 2 with a loving wife.

Leave a Reply

