How to a Handle Pay-It-Forward

I am a firm believer in pay-it-forward activities and I have been witness to many instances on a variety of social networks.  But all of these pay-it-forward postings have raised a question for me and I wanted to share my thoughts with you on this:

Please leave your comments, I am interested in what you have to say about this topic.

About kufarms
10 years in HR and recruiting both in the corporate and agency worlds. Corporate Recruiter and Socail Media Strategist. Looking to share and discuss topics as well as hopefully provide some thought. Dad of 2 with a loving wife.

10 Responses to How to a Handle Pay-It-Forward

  1. You are right, acts of kindness should not be labeled, etc. It should be recognized by a third-party and can THEN be acknowledged. The world would be better if less people patted themselves on the back and just took more time to take action and worry about it later.

  2. Melissa says:

    Keith,

    I love your take on this subject! By using a “pay it forward” hashtag in that manner, it feels like there is a sense of keeping score or a bit of self-aggrandizing on the part of the person who included it.

    Ideally, people would help out other people just because it’s a nice thing to do, not because they are looking for kudos or remuneration.

  3. LDelivers says:

    Pay it forward is a great thing to do, but I agree we need not tell everyone that we are doing it, just do it. However what happens with a lot of causes like this is that it is only done once a year, or so and it should be done all year not just during Holidays etc.

  4. Steve says:

    I could not agree more with you. Some people need the pat of the back knowing that they are doing something good. I am more the person who wants to “pay it forward” because it is the right thing to do and if there is a “pat” on the back so be it but I do not expect it. Can you imagine if we all “paid it forward” what a world we would live in? Great topic to choose!

  5. kufarms says:

    Thanks for the comments Mike, Melissa and Lyle! It is nice to see that I am not alone in this thinking. Absolutely, if someone else recognizes your good deeds then by all means that is something to acknowledge… just don’t push it on me up front!

    Thanks again!

  6. Alastair Behenna says:

    Totally agree with you ….its giving to receive and just cheapens the act itself and devalues the power of ‘connection’.

    Excellent posting, thank you

  7. kufarms says:

    Steve, thanks for the input. It is a weird trend I have noticed and think it is pretty interesting the people are choosing to tell others they are doing it. Thanks for the feedback!

  8. I totally agree. Announcing basically that “I’m doing this because I’m a phenomenally nice guy” is a lousy attempt to get credit for it.

  9. kufarms says:

    Jamie, I couldn’t agree more. Thanks for your time!

  10. Bruce Flinn says:

    Keith, good question. If having to pay-it-forward is a stated requirement accompanying my act of giving a gift then it’s not really a gift.

    The act of giving a gift needs to be sent and received with absolutely no strings attached otherwise it becomes a transaction. These are Seth Godin’s words (loosely translated) not mine.

    If you expect outside recognition by giving a gift – proclaiming to the world that you did so – you are turning that act into a self promotional tool. “Hey look at me aren’t I cool I just gave away … for nothing.” when in fact you are using that very act to draw attention to yourself.

    People will either pay-it-forward or they won’t. Putting restrictions on your gifts that require the receiver to pay-it-forward only diminishes the act and the gift. IMHO

Leave a Reply

