A Different Spin on Personal Branding

1181758It seems that if you are going by the book these days, your personal brand should be your first name and last name, or something close in that order or something easy like this.  Easy to do if you have a more unique name and more difficult to do if your name is more common.

Me, I buck the trend.

My name isn’t too common but there are a few “Keith McIlvaine” characters out there.  I chose to go with “kufarms” or more accurately “KUFarms”.  Why did I do this?  Simple, I didn’t.  I was branded and I decided to own that brand.

I was branded my first day of college.  My roommate was a 6’4” 310 pound offensive lineman on the football team.  And then there was me… all 5’9” and 150 pounds.  While meeting some of our neighbors in the dorm and introducing ourselves, Keith and Del, and there it started.

Del?  You mean like “the farmer and the del”?  Yep, I became “The Farmer” which was quickly shortened to “Farms”.  So, after graduation, I decided that my email address should be the university I attended initials, “KU”, and “Farms” second.

And there you go.

Some of my friends still call by this nickname and when my wife is angry with me or I’m not listening, I know it by her yelling “FARMS”!!!!!

I find this to be a rather solid personal branding statement and a rather unique one as well.  A great topic of conversation and one that will stick with those I connect with at almost any meeting.

This just goes to show that personal branding does not have to be so vanilla but if you brand yourself correctly it might easily become something for you to really leverage in your career.

So, what is my Twitter handle?  @kufarms

About kufarms
10 years in HR and recruiting both in the corporate and agency worlds. Corporate Recruiter and Socail Media Strategist. Looking to share and discuss topics as well as hopefully provide some thought. Dad of 2 with a loving wife.

Leave a Reply

